Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Diesel & Turbo Diesel Chat

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 01-24-2001, 01:57 AM
Inactive User

Question

I am new to the diesel community, about 4 days new. Just purchased my first Cummins, 2500, auto, crew-cab, SLT, 4.10, 70k miles. So bare with me when i ask these few questions. I have read the different posts about using synthetic oils. But it seems everyone does it a bit different. One guy mixes a bit more synthetic at each oil change until he is able to run straight synthetic, kind of breaking the engine in to its new friend. Another guy just changes it with no "break in" period. Then i hear others talk that if you are going to switch to synthetic you need to flush your system??? Like i said i am new to this so please bare with me, but when one says "flush" exactly what is meant by that? And is it necessary? So with all the opinions it is hard for me as a new cummins-a-holic to figure out what is best and i have heard there might be a slight bit of leakage when switching because of the physical properties of the synthetic. And from what i can decipher, it sounds like the synthetic is a great advantage. Sorry for the long post, but i want to care for my new "Baby" as best i can. Thanks for the help!!!!
Old 01-24-2001, 12:25 PM
Inactive User

Cool