Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 01-04-2007, 02:43 PM
Inactive User

Default Holley Mechanical fuel pump problems

Hello I am new to the mopar chat site. I have a 70 Road Runner with a 440. I cant get my New Holley 110 gph chrome pump to pump fuel. I had the stock one on there which workd just fine except i am bored 30 over and seem to run out of fuel when i really get into it. I have tried to Holleys 1 carter and a couple of fuel pump push rods. I cant get any pressure from the holley even though it make the Hickup sound when i pump it on a vise. Has any one had this problem or know what can help. The stock pump and push rod work fine when i put them on just dont supply enough fuel. Please help
Old 01-04-2007, 02:48 PM
Inactive User

Well from my experiences with Holley pumps in the last couple of years is that they are junk! I haven't had one that worked right since they started having them made in Mexico. If they did work they didn't for long. JMO
Old 02-25-2008, 01:48 AM
Inactive User

Default Same Problem Here-they're Crap

I HAVE RECENTLY HAD THE SAME PROBLEM WITH HOLLEY 110 GPH PUMPS. THE FIRST RAN FOR ABOUT 100 MILES AND LEFT ME STRANDED. I BOUGHT ANOTHER TO REPLACE IT WITH NO IMPROVEMENT. UPON INSPECTION OF THE FUEL PUMP ROD, IT WAS WORN AND ABOUT 3" INSTEAD OF THE 3.25(JUST APPROX) OF NEW. I REPLACED THE ROD WITH NO SUCCESS, THEN THE CAM....STILL NO FUEL. NEW CAM, NEW ROD, AND TRIED THREE NEW HOLLEY PUMPS AND STILL NO FUEL. INSTLLED STOCK CARTER PUMP AND PROBLEM SOLVED.

I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER HOLLEY PUMP.
Old 02-25-2008, 02:25 PM
Inactive User

Holley makes some good products, in my experience, mechanical pumps are not one of them.

This happened in about 1972 NINETEEN - SEVENTY-TWO!!!

A friend bought a Holley pump for his 350 Chev 4 x 4