Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 04-10-2007, 02:09 AM
Inactive User

Default Rebuilt 440 timing help?

Hi folks,

I am new to 440's and need some advice from the experts regarding timing and distributor settings.

I have just finished rebuilding a 440 and 727 to drop into my 72 Dodge Charger. The engine and tranny came from a 1966 Chrysler Imperial. It is mostly stock. Bored 0.30" over with stock 0.30" over pistons. 9.5:1 compression ratio. 516 heads rebuilt with 1.74" exhaust valves and seats. COMP CAMS XE274H cam/springs/lifters/timing set. Duration @ 0.050 is 230/236 and lift is 0.488/0.491. CAM was not degreed. TCI breakaway torque converter. 3.55, 8 3/4 rear end. Stock iron intake with Carter AFB 625 CFM carburetor. I know the carb isn't ideal but it is what I had to start with. Plan to upgrade to 750+ cfm soon. Heddman Hedders.

The good news is that the engine seems to have made it through the break-in and seems to be running reasonably, though still a little hard to start.

I have some timing questions. The car has the stock mopar electronic ignition and I installed a stock mopar rebuilt distributor. I set the timing so that at about 2300 rpm, it is 34 deg BTDC with the vacuum advance unplugged and capped. Then when I lower the idle to about 800 rpm, the timing is about 22 deg and the engine rpm surges. I have read that the initial timing should be set to about 10 deg BTDC. How do I check the initial timing and what should I expect to see for timing at idle?

Basically I am looking for advice on how to tune the distributor so that it sets the proper timing at idle and full mechanical advance. I don't really care about vacuum advance right now and will deal with that later. Can anyone help this newbie get another MOPAR on the road?

Thanks!
Old 04-10-2007, 11:01 AM
Inactive User