Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > General Chat > MOPAR NASCAR!

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 01-05-2001, 11:03 PM
Inactive User

This is my first time posting something to the NASCAR forum so forgive me if this has been posted before, I looked through a few and didn't see it so I thought I would post it. I worked with Chrysler-Dodge for about 1 year or so and a few months ago it was brought to our attention that the Intrepid is going to be RWD and they are going to slap the Hemi in it. The original plans were for the Hemi Charger to go into NASCAR but since the production has been cancelled it looks like the Intrepid will get it in 2002. Looks like I'm gonna be glued to every race now.
Old 01-06-2001, 01:24 AM
Inactive User

Biggrin

Zeus:
That would be a real "stretch" for Daimler/Chrysler to do something like that. However,history could repeat itself. About 30 years ago, Mopar was dominating with the Hemi. Then of course, NASCAR outlawed the Hemi. Why would a car manufacture want to go through all the effort to make a car, when they couldn't guarantee that it would be allowed to run?
On second thought, the Hemi referred to may be a 4 cylinder hemi engine and not the legendary 426 Hemi. I'll be watching for further developments.

[This message has been edited by DYNO360 (edited January 05, 2001).]
Old 01-06-2001, 04:58 AM
Inactive User

Welcome to the NASCAR room, Zeus, my fellow North Carolinian!!

Where did you work for D-C? You're not currently working for them?

Rear drive, front drive, it matters not to me. I just want to see that red #9 Dodge run in the front, no matter what configuration NASCAR forces it to run with!
Old 01-06-2001, 10:41 PM
Inactive User