Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 09-05-2007, 05:58 PM

Help 360 w/4bbl Holley stumbles & stalls w/ little bit o' gas, fine with WOT?

Okay, I'm really new to carbs, so learning how to tune this one has been a PITA. Here's the deal:

1985 Dodge Ram 350
5.9L stock
Holley 750 4bbl dual pumper

So yesterday, when it was a little colder out, the engine - even when warm, would stumble and sometimes even stall if I gave it just a little bit of gas. It idles fine, both in D and in P, but give it a touhc of gas and it just wants to die. Step on the accellerator, and it goes!

I have the choke rigged so that it is all the way open, since it has a manual choke adapter on it, but there's no hande in this truck. It was a little cooler yesterday, but I figured that once the engine was warmed up that wouldn't matter.

I have the jet screws set at 1.5 turns open, but I played with those a bit, and it didn't seem to matter what they were set at. I also have an MSD variable timing controller, and I played with ignition timing - I was able to make it worse, but not better. At normal, it is set at 10 deg BTDC at idle.

What am I missing?

Thanks!!!

Dave
Old 09-05-2007, 07:53 PM
Inactive User

Default Missing

Sounds like the accelerator pump is not pumping at all, or very little. Check in the venturis for a healthy squirt (with the engine off), while operating the throttle shaft. Then check to see if it's linkage is connected, or mal-adjusted.
Old 09-05-2007, 10:22 PM
Moparchat Bronze member

There ya go. It's all in the total operation and tune of the unit. Recheck and check again. Make sure the squirters give gas the very instant the throttle is moved. Thats key.
Old 09-06-2007, 11:04 AM
Inactive User