Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 12-13-2007, 02:43 AM
Inactive User

Default 426 Hemi build up, What to do???

I just got my hands on a 426 hemi. Im very excited as would most people. I do not have a car to put it in though. I know these are powerful motors stock and built up. I am wondering though how i should go about building this thing. I ran in the car i took it out of and sounded pretty good for over 200k miles(suposedly). I want to build it up to me a monster. I dont know what to do though, im not experienced with hemi's other than stock rebuilds and tune ups. Please let me know you ideas.

As to what ill put it in i am working on that. I would like to put it in a challenger if i can get my hands on one. Worst case ill put it in my charger. lol
Old 12-13-2007, 03:46 AM
Inactive User

I would contact enginemasters.com. They've covered just about every type of motor build up at least once.
Old 12-13-2007, 07:44 AM
Inactive User

What kind of use will it see? Do yuo want it to remain close to stock externally, or are you ready to go with high single carb intakes etc? How much money are you willing to spend? But assuming this will be mostly a street car, I would aim at as much cubic inches as possible, with light internals. Aftermarket 4.25" stroke crank, long rods and forged custom pistons, at .060" oversize you would end up with 496 cu in. Some head work, camshaft for your taste, and the induction & exhaust in order, and you should get easy 600 hp with great torque on pump gas, or more top end power with a bigger carb, but little less low end.
Old 12-13-2007, 09:32 AM
Inactive User