Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Dakota Truck Forum

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 10-17-2000, 05:20 PM

would the stage I heads from hughes be a real problem with emissions??? Looking for more power, and this seems to be the next step. Thanks for any help.
Old 10-17-2000, 06:36 PM
Self proclaimed expert

The heads shouldn't affect emissions since you aren't changing computer, fuel, timing or exhaust. I'm no expert on emissions, but I don't see how it would have a big effect.
Old 10-19-2000, 04:33 AM
Inactive User

If your talking passing an emissions test, it is unlikely you would pass one. The factory heads are designed with a very specific design to swirl the air and fuel and mix it fully. If you just mean normall everyday drivability, you probably notice no difference, except for more power (assuming other mods have been/ will be made, exhaust, cam, pcm, T.B. etc.)

------------------
If all else fails, use a bigger hammer.

99 Intense Blue Dakota 4wd CC 5.2
ASE master, Daimler/Chrysler Gold Certified Auto Mechanic
Old 10-19-2000, 02:47 PM
Self proclaimed expert

The hughes STAGE1 heads are factory heads with a port job and bigger valves and some bowl work. They will flow more air, but shouldn't change the emissions since they are the same heads that came on the engine. However, Yamarocket does bring up a good point. You are changing the stock setup even if you aren't changing the actual part. Contact Hughes and ask them. I should have told you that first though. Sorry to ramble on about things I'm unsure of.
http://www.hughesengines.com/

Voice:
(309) 745-9558
Fax:
(708) 401-0477
Old 10-19-2000, 06:14 PM