Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Restoring your MoPar (Tricks & techniques)

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 03-10-2000, 05:24 AM
Inactive User

i am in the planning stages of fixing up my '68 road runner. it's in decent shape except for some rust on the body. the rear lower quarters are rusted and all along the bottom of the back glass is rusted with some rusted thru spots. i am on a limited budget so i need to know how expensive it might be to have these rusted areas repaired and have the car painted same color which is white. and the black on the hood across the bulges.
this is my first attempt at restoring a mopar and i'm excited about it and dont know where to begin. i have only $3500 to spend right now. u think the body and paint will be more than that? my trans also need rebuilding because it's slipping.
Oh and 1 more question: my grille is in real good shape but one of the rectangle pieces broke out. what kind of metal is it made of and how can i fix it?
your info would be appreciated.
Old 03-10-2000, 07:05 AM
Inactive User

rust repair is never inexpensive

For $3500 you might be able to get the rust repair done and a halfway decent paint job done. That probably is pushing it.
Old 03-11-2000, 10:53 PM
Inactive User

I'd say to go for the Body work first also-
stop the rust before it gets any worse.