Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Ram Truck Chat

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 12-02-1999, 01:34 AM
Inactive User

I have a 95 ram v-10 with 63,000 miles that suddenly lost oil pressure for no apparent reason.This happened the last two start ups but a quick stab on the throttle brought it back.It has been well maintained and highway driven.I am a lincoln/mercury tech and not very familiar mopars HELP!.The oil pressure does not come back up anymore and the gauge is on zero and the light is on and they use different sensors,the oil and filter are fresh.
Thanks to all who replied. The problem was a sticking relief valve. It took a half hour to fix and I now have 55psi at idle,thanks.

[This message has been edited by thor580 (edited December 05, 1999).]
Old 12-02-1999, 03:01 AM

I am by no means an expert, you should probably no more about this than I do, but I have an idea. You say that your truck suddenly loses oil pressure and then when you hit the gas the pressure goes back up. I bet your truck probably isnt loosing oil pressure at all, more than likely its just a bad sending unit. That makes the most sense to me anyway. If a sending unit goes out of spec then at idle, when the oil pressure can drop off a bit, it may just go dead, and a sudden kick of the gas that pushes the oil pressure up where the sending unit can "see" the pressure again makes everything start working.

-Clay
Old 12-02-1999, 05:38 AM
Inactive User

I'm no expert on the V/10 by any means but I sure wouldn't chance ruining it. Do yourself a HUGE favor and install a mechanical gauge to be sure!
Old 12-02-1999, 09:01 AM
Inactive User