Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Ram Truck Chat

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 12-27-1999, 03:09 AM
Inactive User

Unhappy

have 95 ram 1500 pu, 318, has 96000 miles new trans at 30000, new od at40000 now when it shifts i have 1-2-0-and od where is drive and why did it fail AGAIN ? sunday unit never hauls anything more than stroller&equally heavy stuff. It has had other small problems that were handled O K! heater,3 fuel pumps, 2 serial # s. 1ST new dodge I ever owned & maybe last: the shop said it may cost ONLY $1400 to repair it. WHY! if i have it repaired ,will it happen again? & how soon ?
Old 12-27-1999, 07:29 AM
Inactive User

Do you ride around town with the overdrive on? The overdrive button should ALWAYS be in the off position unless you are OVER 45 MPH. When I was a Parts Manager we did a little test about this with a friends 97 Dakota Sport Club Cab 4X4, 318 Auto. I made sure he never put it in overdrive unless he was on the interstate or similar highway. He ran the crap out of that truck and never had any problems. The thing is this, using OD at less than highway speeds causes the tranny to shift in and out of OD, which causes wear and heat. Heat is the #1 killer of automatic transmissions. I did the warranty paper work on a lot of tranny problems and most of the time the owner left it in OD all the time because he, "got better mileage that way." Who cares about MPG when you have to worry about miles per tranny?
~Elwenil~ ~.\|/.~
Old 12-31-1999, 04:02 AM
Inactive User

Question