Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Ram Truck Chat

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 12-10-1999, 02:09 PM

Hi! I am new to Moparchat and I need some help choosing a high quality lift kit for my 98 4x4 Ram truck. Here are some specifics:

- 98 Dodge Ram 4x4 1500 truck
- 3" lift with new coil springs up front, double shock kit up front, add-a-leafs or blocks or both on the rear, and all of the necessary hardware to make the steering and geometry correct.
- 2 RS9000's up front along with 2 RS5000's with RS9000's on the rear.

Comments, advice and URL's on the best systems? My local 4x4 shop does not like Skyjackers and endorses Superlift. Should I go Class I or Class II and what is the difference???

Thanks to all for any help and advice!

Albin
Old 12-11-1999, 05:56 AM
Inactive User

I just had a 3" Black Diamond added to mine, and they ride pretty good. I believe that the classes represent stiffness and aggressiveness. Generally, a higher class will yield a harder ride, but more aggressive off-road. The higher class will also have more hardware in the kit. I'd visit www.superlift.com They have quite a few FAQ's avaiable. Wish I could be more help, but suspension lifts are not my specialty. From what I have noticed, someone on this board will give you exactly what info you are looking for.
Old 12-13-1999, 05:06 PM

Vortectoaster,

Black Diamond is Warn, right? Do you have an URL for them? How was your truck lifted, new springs in front or the coil spacers? I want the new springs in front so I get the extra 3" of travel. The spacers don't do that for you.

What shocks did you get and do you have the double shock kit up front. I want to stay away from replacing the rear leaf springs, due to cost and the fact that the gas tank has to be removed to get the left spring off the left front hanger.

Any other helpful hints and info??

Thanks,

Albin