Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Ram Truck Chat

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 02-08-2000, 01:51 AM
Addicted Moparchat Member

Okay..here's the deal as a couple of you know. I have a 99 1500 that I've been yearning to lift since I got it. Now that I'm really doing research on it, it's going to be a lot more of an investment than I thought. My goal is to put 36's under it, so no less than a 5 inch will work. I am a college student, so funds are seriously limited with that and the cost of the truck itself. I had about decided on the new BDS kit, but then today I was flipping through my latest Peterson's mag and I see tuff country has come out with a 5.5 inch kit for only 600 bucks!!! Now I think...how can that be? So I give them a call and it turns out for the front they use bolt on steel extended spring pockets, retaining your factory springs. Now for the mostpart, I have heard stay away from the kits with spacers, etc. go with replacement springs. These actually bolt to the existing spring pocket though, not just sit there like most of the kits. they are also made from steel, as the others I have seen (rancho, pro comp) are made of aluminum. I am really after factory like ride and handling, and this truck spends about 80% of its time on the road at least. The tuff country kit comes with all the neccesary corrections, track bar relocation, new upper and lower links, shocks, etc. So I guess the bottom line is... are the replacement springs really worth the extra 600 dollars?? I want a top quality lift that's going to last, so I put my faith in my fellow ram truck lovers to lead me on the right path! Thanks.
Old 02-08-2000, 06:47 AM

Thumbs down

All I can say is you get what you pay for! Sounds kind of cheap if you ask me. If it were a good quality lift and that much cheaper I think all the other companies would be doing it also.