Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Slant Six Chat

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 04-15-2000, 07:57 AM
Inactive User

hello, Has anyone ever tryed the offy dual 1BBL manifold on a /6? Does it work better or worse then the stock "Super Six" 1 2bbl manifold? I know the dual setup will me harder to tune but does it net overall better performace? I will be slipping in a compcam cam also. thanks
Old 04-15-2000, 09:51 AM
Self proclaimed expert

Thumbs up

I would definately go with the dual 1bbl setup. I am no expert on /6s but there is a good sound reason for the dual 1bbl setup. In a /6 the manifold creates a rich mixture on the center cylinders and a lean mixture on the end cylinders. I know it isn't a MOPAR but a friend of mine burned a whole in a piston of his Falcons straight 6 because he thought that just because it ran good his 35year old engine could do 95mph for hours on end. WRONG! when we pulled the head you could see that the center two cylinders were black and greasy the next two looked real good and on the end, one looked burnt and the other had a big hole in it. If you are gonna run your /6 hard. The dual 1bbl setup will lessen the chances of running lean at high rpms on some cylinders. Not that I've ever heard of a /6 having any breakdowns because of this but why chance it? Besides, it looks cool.
Old 04-15-2000, 02:37 PM

Multiple carbs need to be synchronized, do you have access to a synchronizer for the carbs. If not, most motorcycle shops have them.
BB
Old 04-16-2000, 06:45 AM
Inactive User