Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Drag Racing Forum

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 02-18-2001, 12:29 AM
Violent J

Hi all, i am building a 500" stroker motor, Indy SR-1 Ported Heads, 12.5:1 compression. I am wondering what fuel mix may work well(what do you use?). I was thinking of mixing VP C12 50/50 with 93 Pump gas...I have been told this will support this motor to 7500 RPM. Thanks.
Old 02-18-2001, 12:59 AM
Inactive User

Default Fuel

Why not use Vp red. I am no expert, but why would you want to mix the 93 and c12? Another option around here is to use Union 76 fuel because it is only $2.85 a gallon and it is 108 octane and runs well in a 12.5 to 1 motor. I have always had better luck with running pure race fuel. I also run race fuel in my ATV, because when I had to tear it down, it was14 yrs old and the piston was clean with only the red dye in the intake port. I know that all of the motors that I have had with pump gas were DIRTY at the time of tear down. Besides, if you let it set for the winter, VP says that their fuel will not go stale as long as it is not left out in the open.
Old 02-21-2001, 02:53 PM
Inactive User

Thumbs up Fuel for stroker

CD,
I agree with Bug Eyed, I have much better luck with straight race fuel!
Also, you have a substantial investment in that engine, and the quickest thing that will kill it is detonation!!!!
It's better to be safe than sorry, so C-12 would be my starting point:
Here's something I've learned, IF A CAR GOES QUICKER ON A HIGHER OCTANE FUEL...it was detonating on the lower octane fuel you were using before!!!! The higher octane burns slower so the car should run the same or slower if you run a higher octane than it needs.
If you are running a stock block then you must avoid Detonation, so don't get cheap on fuel, and keep the timing conservative!!!
Old 02-21-2001, 08:36 PM