Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 11-12-2001, 07:56 PM
Inactive User

Angry Stupid coolant LEAK

Well, I've just finished a fresh line from the fuel tank to the pump, installed my .454/304 cam, switched to a set of portmatched "L" stamped heads, double roller chain, and Performer intake as well as the March pulley system. I was just about to fire it and break inthe new cam (even though my neighbors won't like it) and filled the radiator only to hear a hissing sound after the rad got halfway. I followed the sound the find a steady stream of coolant coming from the header bolt next to the #8 cylinder. Any ideas on how to fix this without taking off the head again. My wife is already upset about how long I have been driving her Dart.
Old 11-12-2001, 08:10 PM
Inactive User

Unhappy

ausydad, i am far from an expert, and hopefully you get some replies with higher hopes, but that has the sickening sound of a cracked head. if so, i dont know how you could fix it with the head on. hopefully, it is something else, and will be easy to fix. good luck!
Old 11-12-2001, 08:18 PM
Inactive User

What kind of sealer did you use on the header bolts?
Old 11-12-2001, 09:14 PM
Inactive User

I'm not thinking the head would be cracked as I know it's natural for the last header bolt on each side for a small block to enter the water jacket.My problem I believe is that particular bolt was started crooked. I didn't use sealer on the bolts as I didn't use on the last set of heads and never had a problem. This one is a small but steady stream with no pressure on the system. I can try loosening the header again and see if sealer would help. The only sealer I have is the copper. Would that be acceptable on that amount of heat?
Old 11-12-2001, 09:14 PM
owner of The Thing