Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 01-21-2001, 08:49 PM
Inactive User

Question

Hey guy's I'm new here, but not to Mopar, I have been a mechanic and racer for 28 years. I have run into a problem with the brakes on my race car, it is a 65 ply. with the single master cylinder on it, I am trying to change it over to the dual master cylinder set-up but have had no luck, the brakes are mushy, and will not stop the car very good. I have put every thing on new, lines, wheel cylinders, and have tried 3 different master cylinders, I'm not new to doing this, but just can't get a handle on this problem. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

------------------
Old 01-21-2001, 09:20 PM
Inactive User

Quote:
Originally posted by 65 racer:
Hey guy's I'm new here, but not to Mopar, I have been a mechanic and racer for 28 years. I have run into a problem with the brakes on my race car, it is a 65 ply. with the single master cylinder on it, I am trying to change it over to the dual master cylinder set-up but have had no luck, the brakes are mushy, and will not stop the car very good. I have put every thing on new, lines, wheel cylinders, and have tried 3 different master cylinders, I'm not new to doing this, but just can't get a handle on this problem. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

When you change from a single to a duel you have to add a proprotional block valve did you do that? the BIRD

Old 01-21-2001, 10:31 PM
Inactive User

Yes, I have tried it with the proportioning valve, and without, and it makes no difference either way. Thanks.
Old 01-21-2001, 11:23 PM
Inactive User

65,you DID bench bleed the master cyl. first...right?
Old 01-21-2001, 11:27 PM
Inactive User

oh yeah,if you're using a master cyl.adapter plate,you may need a longer brake pedal push rod