Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 01-06-2002, 09:58 PM
Inactive User

Default run without a dip stick?

I bought a 426 wedge 500hp INDY CYLINDERHEAD crate motor and they said not to run with a dipstick because it will blow oil out the stick! is there any truth to this? how do you check the oil, sight gauge. anybody? george 68rr
Old 01-07-2002, 12:01 AM
Inactive User

In our 426 Indy head wedge we do not have a dip stick.
Engine builder said "race motors don't have dip sticks. Watch for blue smoke & leaks, if neather exists then when it's time drain, you refill with correct quantity for the pan you are using.
Old 01-07-2002, 12:25 AM
Inactive User

When you hear a loud, metallic, knocking sound, add 3 qts. Seriously, I don't know why a dipstick would cause blowing oil, but I'm a novice, no race experience. Just my .02, unless you change the oil every time you race, seems dangerous.
Old 01-07-2002, 01:37 AM
Inactive User

Yes oil and or the whole dip stick could blow out. We have never ran on in the dragster and the exact amount that comes out goes back in. I would by whatever size pan that is going on it.
Old 01-07-2002, 12:58 PM
Inactive User

Realize that race motors don't normally run crankcase breathers. Breathers and PCV are used on the street to reduce crankcase pressure which minimizes oil leaks and increases MPG by reusing unburned gas from blowby. Race motors don't want to reduce crankcase pressure because it increases blowby and reduces HP. For this reason, you can develop a pretty could pressure in the crankcase and blow oil out anyplace that will let it like the dipstick.
Old 01-07-2002, 02:13 PM
Inactive User

I'll offer a dissenting opinion here.