Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 01-11-2002, 02:05 PM
Inactive User

Question GM HEI vs. Mopar ignition modual

Is there any advantage to using a GM HEI modual vs. a Mopar modual ?
Old 01-11-2002, 03:50 PM
Inactive User

I was a mechanic for the Kansas Dept. of Trans. for 30 yrs. then Equipment Supt. for another 4 yrs. We had just about every make and model of car, pickup, truck, etc. I probably replaced 10-12 HEI modules to 1 Mopar ECU. The Fords were somewhere in between. Reliabilitywise, it's not a contest. Outputwise a tossup.
Old 01-11-2002, 11:18 PM
Inactive User

jelsr. Yes, but what was the ratio of Mopar to GM vehicles. The answer makes your answer far more realistic............djs
Old 01-11-2002, 11:47 PM
Inactive User

GM Modules are smaller, easier to come by, and the High-Performance Modules are cheaper.

When using an aftermarket coil, the GM Module does not require the use of the ballast resistor, which allows 13.6V to reach the coil instead of 12V. Coil output goes up proportionally. The higher output of the coil allows the plug gap to be opened up quite a bit in some cases, and allows a smoother, lower idle.

There are most likely many more GM cars out there running HEI than Mopar Electronic. As long as you don't run your wires too long, the HEI will last a LONG time.

And the GM HEI unit is not a shock hazard
Old 01-12-2002, 11:52 AM
Inactive User

djswwg-Actually untill '78 when Mopar stopped building trucks they were the more common of the three, pickups were the same. We kept trucks for 175K, pickups for 140K. In FY79 we went to diesel with IHC/Navistar usually the lowest bidder. GM was usually the lowest bidder for pickups with the 6.2/6.5 engine, a real thrill there!