Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 02-27-2002, 11:54 AM
Inactive User

Default I need a good recipe for a MEAN 360 on a budget!!

Hello,
Name is Norm, I have an old 84 shortbed 2wd Dodge w/a 318, I am going to switch over to a 360 soon, I have never built a motor before and i'm gonna do it this time myself (with the exception of machining). I want to build a motor that will at least hit the 300hp. mark. But, I still want drivability, dependability, and enough vacum to work the brakes. something that will work on the street and the strip. emissions is not a factor in my area. My budget allows about $1,000-$1,200 to work with.
Here's my plan....
I already have an Edelbrock Performer Intake, Edelbrock 600cfm Carb to start. I was planning on ordering an Engine Rebuild kit from Summit Racing, but first, I need to get the engine.
I have several questions on this swap that remain unanswered.. here goes..

What year 360 should I look for? Did any of them come with factory 202 heads?

How much should I have it bored over?

Should I have the heads shaved? How much?

What size cam should I go with?

I'll be running a 727, Will I need a new torque converter/flex plate?

Any info is appreciated, and thanks in advance!!!!!!!!! Norm
Old 02-27-2002, 01:52 PM

Your better off getting a crate motor. To build it with the propper machine work you'll have to spend about $700-800. I'm building a motor right now and just the block and rod work it's gonna cost $800. The pistons that I'm running cost $550 so your over your budget already and that doesn't include rings gaskets etc. If I remember right the only 2.02 heads came on 340's. I'd go with '88 or '87 swirl port heads. I used a resto 340 cam. Made great torque and power. You just need to get the compression up. So 9:1 is what you wanna shoot for.

Just my .02