Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 04-13-2002, 10:32 PM
Inactive User

Default tranny problem, help (Not a tranny expert)?(Long)

Have a SB 727 with a stage 2 and big block valve body.

It is fresh (less than 500 miles - so I was told).

Recently, it's started doing this...

Once it's warm.

The tranny Started slipping?(seems like slipping but i'm not an expert).

It does it most Under load (casual cruz up a medium grade hill) in 3rd gear the engine (doing about 40 ish) will begin pulling accellerating while the truck begins to decellerate or not accellerating appropriately with the motor RPM increases.

If I step on it while it's doing it... the RPM's shoot up like I was in nuetral or the tranny is slipping.

If I downshift while it's doing it to 2nd it will quite doing it???

The second time it did it was just tonight and it started bouncing back and forth from 3rd to 2nd then 2nd to 3rd. In other words, started slipping in 3rd, kicks itself to 2nd stops slipping? thengoes back to 3rd and begins to slip?

I did a tranny service on it just 2 days ago (after it did it the first time) thinking that the filter could be plugged. When I cracked the pan I found more metal than I think should be in the pan (especially for new tranny) but I just choked it up to "break in". The fluid was in good shape otherwise (not burnt).

Well needless to say, the tranny service did nothing to solve the problem.

I wonder if my 3rd gear band is shot or out of adjustment (not sure it cn be adjusted). I have a very high stall converter so I thought it may be just not locking up??? Or could it be the valve body?

HELP!!!
Old 04-13-2002, 11:34 PM
Inactive User