Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 04-15-2002, 12:41 AM
Inactive User

Lightbulb Increasing my horsepower

Hello. I'm new to the Mopar family. I just bought a 1968 Plymouth Roadrunner with a 383.

Is it possible to pump it up to 400hp or more without having to beef up the transmission, rearend, etc, and without burning out the engine?

What's the best way without spending an arm and a leg? Will a tourque converter help improve hp?

I have a good cam. Would you recommend making the heads bigger? Buying a new head may be too expensive.

Anyhow, I'm open to suggestions.

Thanks!

Ron
Old 04-15-2002, 12:54 AM
Inactive User

Torque converters don't actually increase the horsepower, they increase the stall speed (higher rpm at idle). Engines perform the best around mid range (for the most part), the torque converter just moves the rpm to this mid range so when you take off it will seem like there is more horsepower, it's kind of like stepping on the accelerator and the brake at the same time and then releasing the brake and flooring it.

To get more power out of your 383 (rated at 335 horsepower i think) i would put an extreme energy COMP CAM in it. That oughta be good for 20-30 hp. Change the intake to an edelbrock performer RPM for about 10-15 hp. Maybe get the heads machined to raise compression for an extra 10-20 hp. Also changing the carb would probably be advisable. I'd recommend the street avenger holley 770cfm, it's a bit pricey though, should be good for 20+ hp. And if you don't have headers yet, get them, 15-30 hp. All this could be done for under $1000. Hope this helps.
Old 04-15-2002, 01:07 AM
Inactive User