Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > General Chat > Rumors and Gossip, etc...

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

View Poll Results: Will eliminating the penny be good or bad?
yes 2 16.67%
no 10 83.33%
Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

Old 07-24-2002, 05:15 PM

Default Will eliminating the penny be a good or bad thing?

I just saw this link where there is a proposal to eliminate the penny.

http://www.abcnews.go.com/sections/b...ny_020723.html

I'm no expert, but it seems to me that every time there is a price increase, it will be a minimum of a 5 percent increase instead of 1 percent. Imagine gas going up 5 cents a pop instead of one.
But, I had a fellow told me that it would even out and have no effect. So whaddya all think? Read the article, and vote, post a comment. I'm afraid it will cause a 5 percent increase almost immediately, with inflationary effects after, but we have a lot of folks in transportation, education and other fields here, and I'm just a mechanic. So what do you all think, good or bad?
Old 07-24-2002, 06:49 PM

Hmmm.... Your poll makes very little sense... Will it be good or bad with the choices of yes or no. That means yes it will be good or bad/no it will be good or bad. I choose not to vote as the poll is even worse than the chads in Florida.

This idea was proposed a few years back. They CLAIM that it will all even out in the wash and most consumers will not notice it. Like I said back then, BS.

People are trying to find ways for the government to save money, by not having to mint pennies. If they want to save money, they should stop making the dollar bill and use only one dollar coins. When they pull a coil out of circulation, it can be melted down and made into a new coin. currency has to be burnt and cannot be reused after being pulled from circulation.

Keep the Penny!
Old 07-24-2002, 06:55 PM
Inactive User

yep...confusing question