Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 08-07-2002, 01:19 AM
Inactive User

Default swirlport heads

i have an 88 diplomat w/ 2 bbl, 318, wondering if the engine has swirlport heads on them,is there a way to find out?? im trashing the leanburn w/ a mopar performance electronic ignition w/ orange box....so far this is what i have planned, trash lean burn and replace it w/ performance ignition, get rid of the rediculous feedback carb and replace that w/ a carter afb 625 cfm, also replace intake manifold w/ a edelbrock performer w/ egr and dual exhaust w/ flowmasters or other free flowing muffler....

any suggestions, how are the carter carbs, any headers that will fit an '88 318, im not goin for all out performance but i want a car that can get outta its own way and get decent gas mileage, am i headed in the right direction....

also, how difficult is it to swap out an intake manifold, ive never swapped out a manifold, if i follow the directions should i be fine..please feel free to email me w/ any suggestions you may have or tips for anyone that has done something similiar, thanx
Old 08-07-2002, 09:17 AM
Moparchat Bronze member

Well, I won't e-mail you, but i'll post till your done.

So far, it sounds good. The intake swap is easy. The Carter is fine. Maybe a little rich to start with out of the box.
Both are straight foward and a snap.
Sorry, I can't help with headers.
Old 08-07-2002, 12:49 PM
This account disabled due to bad email address!

Unless they have been changed out to something else along the way, yes, they will be the swirl port heads. The 7 digit casting number ends in "302" and you should see it on top of the head when you take a valve cover off.
Old 08-07-2002, 01:48 PM
Inactive User