Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 08-27-2002, 10:02 AM

Help Monster Mopar Weekend

This is my first time going. Does anything take place on Fri? Are there any hot cruizing spots? How far is the track from the Collinsville Hampton INN. Is the Hampton Inn close to the Holiday in host hotel? How many show cars are expected?I know it 's not as bg as the Nats.
Old 08-27-2002, 02:32 PM
Inactive User

Default Ahh... my favorite subject...

(V)onster (V)opar is one of the greatest all Mopar events in the country. I have been going for the last ten years or so and haven't been let down at all. My Dad and I alternate taking a car down about every other year.

Usually the car show has probably around 400 cars (I'm guessing), and the swap meet covers about a 2X3 block area including the car corral. The swap meet and car show are traditionally held inside the oval of Gateway Raceway.

The drag racing portion is getting larger and larger every year, and this year I think that time trials are on Saturday with eliminations being on Sunday. The track is also open Friday with free (don't hold me to that) test and tuning for Monster Mopar racers. There are all sorts of exhbition cars that race too: King of Street, Wheelstanders, Nostagia and Wedge classes, Top Fuel Nostaliga, and more. I was part of an "exhibition" myself back in 1998: I was driving my Dad's Duster in time trials when I pulled a 10 second Viper that ended up spinning out right in front of me. I locked up the brakes going about 80 and missed T boneing him by about 5 feet!! Read all about it here:

http://www.moparchat.com/forums/show...=monster+mopar