Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 10-17-2002, 10:20 PM
Inactive User

Default transmission noise

ive written before about this but it was a while ago and i cant fint the old post, i have a diplomat w/ a 2bbl 318 that orignally had a 7 1/4 inch rear on it. the rear went and i replaced it w/ an 8 1/4. thats the background..my question is, the transmission which is the a-904, made a horrible screeching noise after the rear end went, not from neutral or park, but when we towed it, i drove w/ my father in the truck and my brother sat in the car, it was a few blocks away so we just towed it with our ram, but my brother had the car in neutral and it was on for the power steering, but he bumped the gear selector in drive and the driveshaft started spinning and then he went right to park and it made a horrible screeching noise, is that the transmission gone as well or is that just that there was nothing connected to the tranny to stop it from spinning anymore, any ideas? i know this may be kinda confusing
Old 10-17-2002, 11:41 PM
Moparchat Bronze member

I'm sorry, I'm not clear on this. The rear (8 1/4) went when? Then while it was in tow, the gear selector was bumped into gear?
I have before done something similar. While haveing to much fun in the car, the same thing happened. Gear shifter into park @ 60 mph. Well, it shut the car down, but showed no adverse effects.
The second time, yes second time, the car didn't shut off, but again, no adverse effects. Check yoour pan anyway.