Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 10-23-2002, 04:15 PM

rolleyes2 rev man valve body & passing gear linkage question

sa a 727 or 904 with reverse man valve body i know you have to man shift it does it mean the valve body is reversed ? how to you change it to man valve body? do you have to by special linkage? on muscle cars they dont have passing grear rods that go to the carb why arnt they there how does it work without it why do they take it off? i kindof got a little idea about these things but i'm still learning if the passing gear rod is gone how does it work on muscle cars ?is the car man valve body if it doesnt have the passing gear rod? 727 and 904 say its in a car or truck and you want the trans in a muscle and the linkage works off the steering colum what if you wanted a b&M shifter on the floor will this work? does it work with cables or linkage?
Old 10-23-2002, 04:57 PM
Inactive User

You have two major mods here.

1.) manual valve body - does not use the governor or throttle rod from the carb and will only shift manually (simplified answer, there's more going on there). Super hard shifts and you control your shift RPM.

2) Reverse shift pattern - stock pattern is PRN321 Reverse is PRN123. This keeps you from hitting neutral or even worse reverse while upshifting.

P.S. if you don't use the throttle rod on a torqueflite without a manual valve body, start looking for another trans cause that one will be mush in a short while. Without the rod, you will have low pressure and smoked clutches and steels.
Old 10-23-2002, 05:39 PM

Thumbs up thanks i got it now :)

i get the idea now what if you have the b&N rachet shifter that doesnt let you go into rev or nutral so do you not need man valve body?
or is it better to have manual valve body with that shifter
Old 10-23-2002, 10:17 PM