Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 10-03-1999, 04:26 AM
Inactive User

Question

I have a question about camshafts. I'm a diesel mechanic by trade, but trying to get into performance mopar in the spare time. I want to build a 400, and with all the dfferent combo's of cams It's hard for me to decide, but first I need to understand exactly how duration, lobe lift etc. effects the entire engine performance. I persally like the sound of engine lope. Could someone explain how these combo's effect idle sound, and overall performance?
Old 10-03-1999, 05:38 AM
Inactive User

As a diesel tech,you probably know this,but I'll explain it anyway for anyone who might not know.Duration is measured in degrees,and a circle has 360 degrees,so if a cam is advertised at 280 degrees,you get the idea of how "long" it's duration is.Valve lift is in inches and that is how far it's raised off the valve seat.In other words a 280 deg duration cam with 470" lift Intake and exhaust means that the valve upon opening will be raised .470" off the valve seat(or Open)for a period of 280 deg of cam rotation.Now overlap is where the intake and exhaust valve are open at the same time and this too is measured in degrees.A longer degree overlap is what gives a engine it's "lope" A stock 340 cam has 44 deg of overlap,but the 280/480 has 60,hence it "lopes" more than the stocker cam.So a long duration cam,at 300 degrees and valve lift at .750" with a 68 degree overlap,means those valves are staying open a long time and off the seat almost 3/4 of a inch and both valves are open at the same time for 68 degrees out of 360,That's a pretty big cam!!! As far as picking out a cam,regardless of manufacturer,it depends on what you are doing with the car and some of what the engine is or will be equipped with.
Old 10-04-1999, 03:06 AM