Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 11-16-2002, 08:36 AM
Inactive User

Default piston question

Ive got a question. Dad says I should use a ridge reamer to remove my pistons. My buddy says I don't. Whose right? Thanks guys.
Old 11-16-2002, 09:30 AM
Inactive User

Default ridge reamer

If you have never used one DON`T.
It wouldn`t take much to destroy the top of the bore.
Your pistons will come out just fine without useing one.
Old 11-16-2002, 10:07 AM
This account disabled due to bad email address!

I second what DD said don't do it.
73 Swinger
76 Ram 3/4 Ton
77 Ram Shortbed 1/2 Ton
74 Duster w/318
92 Sundance
89 LeBarron Convertable Turbo
Old 11-16-2002, 06:56 PM
Inactive User

whats the point of having one then?
Old 11-16-2002, 08:18 PM
Inactive User

Default Reamer

I am not an expert.. I used the ridge reamer to clean the ridge out of the top of the cylinder walls. I am told if you don't, your new rings will hit them and break them. This gives you a clean even cylinder to Hone for your new pistons/rings etc.

Your old pistons will come out fine because the rings are worn anyway,at least mine did. I never heard of ridge reaming BEFORE you remove your pistons..
Like the Guys said.. 'If you have never used one, DON'T'.
Get some help from someone with experience so you don't cut too much out and ruin your block..

I hope I am telling you right, I have only my own experience with mine to go by. The other fellows here are VERY TALENTED and can probably explain things better! I hope this helps Dave
Old 11-16-2002, 08:32 PM
Inactive User

I thought that was the reason of the ridge reamer,to cut the ridge down before you knocked the pistons out , to keep from breaking the rings lands or damaging the cylinder walls to the point where it would have to bored

just my thoughts on this

Rider