Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 12-11-2002, 11:49 PM
Inactive User

Default Questions about Mopar Performance electronic distributor

I am not new to cars but I am new to Mopars so I have a few questions about the Mopar Performance electonic distributor. I was thinking of getting the MP dist. and contol module set up from Summit for $191 for my 71 383 Satellite and my question is this: If I buy that set up what else will I need to complete the system? Do I only need a coil to go with it or are there other necessary pieces? Is this the best ign. system for the money? I have had systems from Performance Distributors in other cars I have had and I know they sell a complete sytem with a custom set timing curve for each appliaction for $300 with the coil, has anyone tried that? Thanks Steve
Old 12-12-2002, 01:39 AM
Inactive User

The mp kit is reliable and easy to install.

Your stock coil will work.

The big downer to the kit, is that the distributor was curved by monkeys, and will need to be redone by a local guy, or cuda66273 at too much racing.

If you want something better like msd, I don't know what to recommend to you. I know lot's of guys here love the stuff, but I have had some problems with the quality of the product, and further problems with the customer service at MSD which in my opinion is non-existant. If you have a problem with your msd, the car is problem, not the msd.

Anyway, I hope that helps you a bit.
Old 12-12-2002, 02:36 AM

You can get the setup cheaper from Koller Dodge, than you can from summit. Summitt is always over-priced on the MOPAR PErformance parts.
Old 12-12-2002, 11:10 AM
Banned

I don't know the specs on your car but if your intertested in a complete system we have a Rebuilt MP distributor, New MSD 6AL and a New Blaster 2 coil....complete system.