Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 06-15-2003, 12:25 PM
Inactive User

Help Head Advice/Lead Additive Wanted

I've got a set of 906 BB heads. I had them redone and fully ported years ago, but I left the valve size stock. The shop that did them was supposed to install hardened seats for unleaded gas, but they did not. I've been driving this car for almost 10 years using unleaded 93 octane. It did run strong and made 485 hp and 512 lbs/tq. Anyway, due to other motor problems I've pulled the motor. I've ben told hardened seats cannot be installed---there is not enough material.

Now I have a couple of options and decisions to make.

1. Redo the heads with 2.14s and 1.81 and run a lead substitute. But, what lead subtitute?

2. Find another set of factory heads and have them ported and redone with hardened seats.

3. Buy Edelbrocks---This is my least favorite solution because I already plan on buying one set of E-heads for another car. I just don't have the money for two sets right now.

Any recommendations would be appreciated.
Old 06-15-2003, 12:59 PM
This account disabled due to bad email address!