Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 08-17-2003, 04:08 AM
Inactive User

Default 340 Rebuild

Ok im a complete newb on this. My dad left me a 340 that ran back in the late 80's/early 90's. Its been sitting inside a garage since then and no one has touched it. What will it take to get this thing running again and about how much money. I was told that it could pound some pavement and his old friend said he would guess it had somewhere around 400 hp. Well since my dad is no longer around to assist me, I have to come here and embarass myself. Anyways I wouldnt see why taking the crank out and the pistons off and cleaning the entire thing real well and getting all the carbon off would fix it. Also im guessing its gonna need new rings. And probably a good hone job, which i could do myself right? Ive done this kind of stuff on lawnmowers and quads countless times, but this scares me as I really dont want to mess it up. Also is there anything else i need to do such as have the heads checked along with the block. Basically what im asking is a guide on what to do from the way it is now to get her running again. Im not looking to dump a fortune into it for new pistons and the works. Thanks for anyone who has the time to answer my question and I really appreciate it. I want to get this motor going and then get a car or possibly dakota to put her in. Im a little behind on this though since school is starting in 2 weeks and I have nothing to drive. I dont feel like riding the damn bus again.
Old 08-17-2003, 01:48 PM
Inactive User

Since the engine been siting up and you are unsure of it's condition and there is no one to ask I think the first thing is a disassamble and mic every thing to see what needs to be done as far as machine work and part replacement.
Old 08-18-2003, 01:49 AM
Inactive User