Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 08-27-2003, 02:22 AM
Inactive User

Default W series heads history?

I am new to MOPARs and was wondering if there was something I could read to learn about the history about these heads? I always hear people talked about W2s and W7s, but which is better for which app, and how are they different from the other W heads? This is total different from the Chevy world that I come from where every sb head fits every sbc out there.

Thanks
Jeremy
Old 08-27-2003, 05:01 PM
Inactive User

"W" heads are small block wedge heads
I was lead to believe that the W1 was the TA head. It was the first performance "LA" head to have offset intake rockers for relocated pushrod holes. After Mr. M improved the design, the W2 was introduced.

"P" series heads are of the Poly design (almost Hemi) for the "A" engines. The P1 lasted from the beginning of time to 1968 when it was set aside in favor of the cheaper W series head. In the last few years, the P series has made a strong come back in "Big $" race series.

The Mopar Small Block engine book has a some information about the W heads.

I hope that some of the "old timers" get in on this thread and give us better information.

Billy
Old 08-27-2003, 07:02 PM
Moparchat Bronze member

I don't know about the "Old" P series head Billy spoke off. But....

The W-2 was introduced in....I forget the year...to the public as a race head. In a unported form, the head flows in the area of 260-270 cfm out of the box. This Iron head was copied by 2 other companys in Aluminum.
Out of the box, they didn't do to bad but could use some work. Lots of work can net big gains. (A freind had the basic full port work done on it and came up with 325 cfm. He could have gone father, but major mods and oversized valves weren't in the picture.)