Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 10-01-2003, 09:27 PM
Inactive User

Question cam grinds

hey all,

looking for some info on what cam grind i should purchase. ive rebuilt quite a few motors but this is my first time at building a "hot rod"

here are a few of the particulars that may be needed to help with my question....the car weighs about 2700lbs as it sits right now
i will be pulling the 4 banger and replacing it with a stock(for now)360 with a 904. the motor has a 2 barrel carb but i will be replacing that with a 4 barrel, intake and headers

looking for something that will able to be driven on a daily basis but not to concerned about milage. im also not opposed to a mildly rough idle. gearing hasnt been determined yet but i am going to be running an 8 3/4" rear. any info would be great

thanks in advance
Old 10-01-2003, 09:41 PM
Inactive User

lance, cams are a difficult choice because so many different factors go into choosing "the right" cam. i would be glad to delve into the great abyss of cams but try this...

get a mopar purple shaft 284/484 hydraulic cam from mopar performance - - - i'm sure some of our friends here may agree or disagree, but as an entry level starter cam... it's great.

good lope to the engine, good low range torque, good power
especially for a basically stock 4bbl engine - i can already say you will be happy with it to start off with.
Old 10-01-2003, 09:46 PM
Inactive User

max,
that is the kind of info i am looking for, like i said, i am kinda virgin at this project.......thanks
Old 10-01-2003, 10:12 PM
Moparchat Bronze member

Lets get a little more info from you. What is the cruise range you wish to be in at the spped (Limit) you drive. For the most part, 55 mph is where most people choose at. Is 3000 rpm to much?