Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 10-25-2003, 05:15 AM
Inactive User

Question Ignition system 101

I am fairly new to the world of Mopar. I have run a bunch of other cars, and moddified them too so its not like I never lifted a wrench. I guess I'm strugling in part by differences in UK/USA terminology but also the ignition system on Mopars seems different (at least from what I read and people talking on here)

So can some kind person explain to an English newbie and former GM owner about Mopar ignition. (or point me in the direction of a website that explains it all)

When people are talking about orange boxes or chrome boxes what exactly are we talking about? Which is better for what and why?

And where/when do ECUs come into it? I assumed thats like the electronic controls you get on late model injection cars but I heard people talking about that for early models too.

I apparently have a "lean burn" ignition on my 5th Avenue. Sounds like a zero for performance to me. Is the lean burn something added to it or is it a particular type of distributor?

Anything else you might like to share with me to help a guy out?
Old 10-25-2003, 07:15 AM
Inactive User

The Orange box and Chrome box ARE Ecu's ( Electronic control unit's). Most people call them ignition modules. These are the boxes on the fenderwell that help to control spark. Orange and chrome are color codes for different RPM and performance ranges. Orange is better for mild build and street use, it's good to 8000 I believe. For Lean burn, this is a computer control for fuel delivery for better optimizing. Sucks for performance. I would toss it, get a MP recurve dist w/ Orange box, and switch to a Thermoquad carb and a nice dual plane intake....
Just a couple of thoughts...
Old 10-25-2003, 09:19 AM
Moparchat Bronze member