Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > General Chat > Polls Forum

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

View Poll Results: Should car-show entrants be charged?
No, I've already spent enough money. 14 26.92%
Only if there is a sizeable prize at stake. 29 55.77%
How else would you pay Spider-man to show up? 5 9.62%
I'll pay anything, just let me show my car. 4 7.69%
Voters: 52. You may not vote on this poll

Old 10-30-2003, 02:33 AM
Inactive User

Default Do Car-Show promoters take an unfair advantage of car owners?

I love car shows. I love going to car shows and I love entering my cars and showing them off to the world. However, as a musician, I spend a lot of time practicing my craft and I spend a lot of money buying gear. When I land a gig to play I get $200 a night or better. Thats the payoff for all the years of hard work and dedication. But when it come to car shows, I have to PAY 10 to 25 bucks just to enter my car. WHY? So a car show promoter can make money off the spectators that came to see ... and I love this one ... my car! among others. Without the cars at the show what does the promoter have? A big empty field. SUNDAY, SUNDAY, SUNDAY Come one, Come all and pay $5 to see a big empty field.
But we continue to pay it. Why? Vanity, I guess. It seems to me that the more cars that enter the show the bigger the show will get, more people will attend and the promoter should in turn, still make money. I attend the James Dean Cruise every year in Fairmont IN. and there is never even an entrance fee. Cool, huh?There is however, one show here in the midwest that really gets my dander up. It's a show that allows you to enter judged or non-judged (no possibility of a trophy) but you still have to pay $10 so they can charge the spectators $5 to see your car. Tell me what you think about these con-men of vanity.
Old 10-30-2003, 03:39 AM
Inactive User