Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Dodge Viper Chat...

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 02-06-2004, 10:12 PM
Inactive User

Help need some help building a viper engine...

To all you Viper gearheads out there...I am a Viper certified technician looking for the best performance mods to make on a 1997 Viper GTS. Am considering performance heads from the mopar performance catalog, and would loke to keep the motor naturally aspirated for reliability. Any help? Thanks.

Clint
mprtek@aol.com
Old 02-12-2004, 11:49 PM
Inactive User

Why would a Viper Tech be asking for advice on tuning a Viper motor on this site? Why would you ask on any site? I thought that's what customers come to you guys asking...

Everything in the Viper world is ridiculously overpriced (and overrated).

You want performance? Go to high performance driving school.

You want faster 1/4 mile times? But some drag radials and half shafts.

You want lap times, buy racing rubber, adjustable perches, anti-toe brackets and Stop Tech brakes.

The bottom line is that the Snake has plenty of performance right out of the showroom. Learn how to drive the beast first and look for mods when you know what you're doing.

STAY AWAY FROM TUNERS... let the buyer beware.
Old 02-15-2004, 03:41 AM
Moderator and HEMI FIEND

The more powerful the car, the more important it is to have a skilled driver in the seat to make the most of what is given to you.
There are stock GenII Vipers that do mid 11s in the 1/4. You just have to know the car. If you really want to "go" in a Viper, your going to have to ditch the IRS. When last I knew there were several guys with 1000+hp Vipers doing low 10s and high 9s with IRS... lets see Talented Driver+Stock (400RWHP) Viper does mid 11s....add 600hp and only gain 1.5-2.0 seconds????
Old 02-23-2004, 05:12 AM
Inactive User