Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 04-15-2004, 04:26 PM
Inactive User

Default New to Forum - Help me with my 360 Block/727 Tranny

Greetings!
I came across this site and thought I'd ask away.....
I need your help here. I know nothing about Mopar/Dodge.....
I'm a Camaro guy and I have a 1988 Dodge Diplomat in my driveway that I have been wanting to play with. I'm pretty excited with having this project car but I don't really know what I have to work with. I'm told that I have a 360 with a Torque Flight 727. Let me tell you what I want to do if this engine block has potential and then let me tell you what parts I need and hopefully get some ideas from you guys so I can get my researching mods on a good foot. I'm still an amatuer with engines but I have clear knowledge of putting together bolt-ons but no knowledge of what will be compatible with what. For example, Block meeting the specs of Heads and meeting the specs of tranny, especially with this car.

Here we go. If possible, I would like to build this engine that will be track driven, no daily driver.
I would like to keep up with my cousin's Stang if possible. We have the idea to both create track cars. So far he is ahead on me with this project. He already has the engine and tranny in a 68 Stang. He still has to wait on his 9' rear end and disc brake conversion and he's at a stand still waiting for his rearend. The deadline for completion is Summer 05. He has a 351 Windsor, AFR 185 heads 2.020/1.600, 750 Edel on a Edel performer Dual plane, TCI tranny C6, Comp Cam XR288RF-HR10 (288/294 .555/.576 110 Roller Seat-to-Seat) The shop that built his loaded heads and block guessed that he would put out around 415HP (FLY) @ 4,500K and 480 TQ (FLY).