Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 05-03-2004, 02:59 PM
Inactive User

Default mushy 318

Hi: Here's what I have. I have a '70 Barracuda Gran Coupe Convertible, 318, 727, 326? open diff. I'm not a mechanic, and have only gone so far as a water pump or intake swap. Everything else gets subbed out.
Here's my problem. When I drive around town and the car gets hot, it's hard to restart, and when it does finally fire - it's real lazy sounding until I can get it to rev.
I've taken the Therm/4 and iron intake off and replaced it with a few other carbs. I now have an (SBQ??) Edelbrock with a Street Performer carb. It didn't change a thing.
What I want is more pep, and reliability. I'd like to drive the car on a 1000 mile trip this summer but hesitate. I've gotten advice on airgap intakes by Edlbrk, elec. fuel pumps, cam swaps, etc but don't want to keep chasing my tail. Is there any advice out there to help? Thanks Hakrite
Old 05-03-2004, 03:11 PM
Inactive User

Exclamation cool car

where does the temp gauge read?Might just need to flush out the cooling system,the alloy of metal in chrysler engines is prone to rusting more so than other makes,its stronger but rusts quicker.So thats where iI would start,then install a cooler thermostat,make sure the fan clutch is OK if so equipped,and make sure your timing is right,and look in the distributor to make sure the counterweights arnt stuck.Does it like to turn slow when warm?That tells us that its either overadvanced or counterweights are sticking.Black smoke?that tells us the carburator is flooding.Just basic stuff to get ready for the summer driving season,no biggie.
Old 05-03-2004, 03:19 PM
Inactive User