Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 01-11-2000, 02:03 AM

Question

I've been thinking about putting a non lockup A518 in my '79 Aspen R/T. The original plan was to just change the 2.71 gears to 3.55's which I already have. But an O.D. transmission would allow me to use 4.56 gears on the street, which would come in very handy in stoplight drag races!
What I need to know, if anyone has done it, is if the floorpan needs to be cut or not. I know I'll need to make a new trans. mount, and that's ok, but I don't want to cut the floorpan or the crossmember. My car has a floor shifter, too.
Old 01-11-2000, 04:07 AM
Inactive User

I did this swap in a 68 Dart. The floor pan was not moved, but the cross member was. I'm not real familiar with the F-body, even though I've been driving one for 5 years (I *HATE* it!). The stock floor shifter will require extensive mods because the mounts for the "through the floor" rod do not exist on the O/D trans. There are other minor mods needed (new cooling lines, kick down, etc), but they are really nothing compared to making new a mount. Thinking about it, those trans tunnels are smaller than an A-body, so I wouldn't be surprised if you needed to do some floor pan mods.

My 2ยข worth!
<font color = 990033>DB</font>

------------------
You're only young once, but you can be immature forever
Old 01-11-2000, 06:24 PM

I expected I would have to make new cooling lines and kickdown linkage, and make a bracket for the floor shifter. Not a problem for those things. Anyone else? How much cutting needs to be done on the floor and crossmember to make it fit?
Old 01-11-2000, 06:34 PM
Inactive User