Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 10-21-2004, 02:49 AM
Inactive User

Default cam question (duration and lift)

Hello newbie here . I have a question on cam lift and duration I am having trouble with.I am in the collecting process of building my stroker 400.let me list what I have and maby it will helpwith the question I have.
1-400 block
going with a good forged pistion shooting for 10 to 1 comp
440 rods and crank
intake is a torquer may be changed
906 heads ported mildely with 2.14 and 1.81
750 holly dp mechanical
727 cheeta rev v- body
8 3/4 -410 sg
time to pick a cam.I am looking at several grinds but am confused.I see some grinds with 2 diff lifts and durations intake and exaust.then some are the same intake and exaust.I have been told that the grinds with more exaust lift are better cause they get more of the trash out ,then I am told that they loose compression and that one with equil lift is better. Is this merely a preference thing or is one really better? Hope this question isnt too stupid but it is my first build and I am learning as I go.

thanks
Old 10-21-2004, 11:26 AM
Inactive User

Default Welcome

Welcome to Moparchat, D.W.

I know there are members who will disagree with me, but here are a couple of choices for you. The 292 degree/.509 lift Mopar Performance cam is a good one. There are 2 cams (diferent part #'s) with this same lift/duration, though. Difference is one is ground on a 108 degree center line (lobe separation); the other on a 114 degree center line. If you are going to do more street driving than drag racing go with the 114 C/L cam; more drag racing than street, go with the 108 C/L cam. Another good choice for a street cam is the original Purple Shaft 284 degree duration .474 lift cam from years back.