Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 01-07-2005, 08:48 PM
Inactive User

Help Motor Tuning ?s

I need some help. I have a 71 318 fresh rebuild. I am running 10.2-1 compression with speed pro pistons and ported 302 casting heads with 1.88 and 1.60 valves, an edelbrock airgap intake and a 600 cfm eddie carb. The cam is a Mopar purple shaft 284/484. Ignition is mopar electronic.I am running Champion rn12yc plugs and hedman headers with accel 8mm wires. It either starts good and runs bad or starts bad and runs decent. I have payed with the timing and got it running a lot better, but when I drive it down the street and mash on the gas it pops and blows all of the vacuum plugs off of the carb. Is this likely a carb or timing or ignition problem. This is my first project and I am learning as I go. Any help would be appreciated.
Old 01-07-2005, 09:59 PM
Moparchat Bronze member

At this point, it could be a weeeeee, bit of both.
Popping through the carb is lean. However, since your playing with timing...
Start over, from the top.
Get to top dead zero on piston #1. then realign the rotor on the distributor.. Time the engine so there no advance or retard with the timing light.
When you advance the distrib, the engine will run faster. Reduce the speed of the engine with the adjustment screw on the carb. Carb idle speed screw. Reverse on the retarding of the distrbutor and carb.
As a basic setting, the distributor should be in fully (Done advancing) by 3000 rpm. When you reach this, lock the distrib. down and return the carb to normal position (Idle) and tune carb in that spot.
With that cam, it should idle ruff. Chopping like an axe.
Also, the Orange box should be removed in favor of the Chrome box as a min. upgrade with a HP coil.