Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 11-30-2005, 10:03 PM
Inactive User

Default What do you consider the horsepower limit for OEM 383/400 rods?

I'm new to big-block Mopars (had smallblocks before) and I'm currently aquiring parts for my 400. The engine will be fairly "mild" by today's standards of power. I've been told that the combo that I am planning could be good for 375-400rwhp. This will be in a car that will basically be a nice-day and weekend car that might see a few passes at the dragstrip in the summer just to see what it will do. Will the stock rods be OK to this point? This is one area that I could save quite a bit of money to spend elsewhere on the engine.
Old 11-30-2005, 10:59 PM

Mopar had some of the best OEM rods. Youll be fine. Use a new set of rod bolts, ARP or Pioneer and forget about them.
Old 11-30-2005, 11:58 PM
Inactive User

Quote:
Originally Posted by pishta
Mopar had some of the best OEM rods. Youll be fine. Use a new set of rod bolts, ARP or Pioneer and forget about them.
Sweet. My last toy was a Mustang with the 4.6L and their rods are only good to about 375-400rwhp. I would hope that big-block Mopars were stronger, but this is the first one that I have owned and just want to get the info straight since I'm getting ready to start purchasing parts for it. That will give me money to spend elsewhere on the car/engine.
Old 12-01-2005, 03:18 AM
Inactive User