Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 12-18-2005, 10:30 AM
Inactive User

Default Gear drives(GOOD or BAD)

I am wondering wheather to install a gear drive in my 64 Dodge Polara 500max wedge. I have heard bad reports on mopar with gear drives,but have NOT know anyone directly that has had a bad experience with one. Hoping someone will shed some lite on this subject. Thanks MiMax PS Love the sound.
Old 12-18-2005, 01:14 PM
Inactive User

I have been using gear drives on various race engines for the past 25 years---without any problems.

But, gear drives arn't for everyone. They are noisy, need some lubrication and MUST be installed correctly. For serious race engines, I think they are the only way to go! I prefer Milidon drives- we are using one Milidon drive system over 15 years old. I sold a Keith Black gear drive system last year that was 25 years old- and it was OK, just had some wear.

A chain(or belt) will work well for their intended application as well. If you want something easy to install, don't have excessive spring pressure, are primarily street driven(or drag strip use), chains work well.

But, if you are using 700+ lbs. of spring pressure, up/down the RPM range or turing high RPM(8000+) all the time, I would use a gear drive system.
Old 12-21-2005, 01:41 AM