Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Performance Talk

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 07-18-2006, 07:33 PM

Default 440 buildup.

Well some of you may remember me asking questions to do with my 1975 440 that I've taken apart and now the time has come to start the build.

I'm making this thread to get your opinions and ideas on what to get for my 440. This is a complete build, the only thing I'm using from the old engine is the block, new EVERYTHING!

Ok.. So here it is.. I'll try to give as much detail as possible as to what I'm looking for performance/driving wise.

It's uncertain exactly what type of body this motor is going into. But regardless I'm looking for the same things out of it. Note, I'm an amateur to this hobby...

The car will be mostly street driven, some highway and a little street racing.. No strip. (yet) So I need it built to idle. Have a decent highway speed (I know that will have a big part with gearing) and also have a nice bite if I jump on it from 0 mph. I would prefer a less complicated build (meaning I don't want to have to do much chopping or finding nifty ways of making things fit/work, also something that will be fairly easy for a new guy to tune and maintain. I'm looking for approximately 450-500 horse. I would prefer to keep stock bore and stroke, but I would not mind going .30 over, we'll see what they say about the cylinders, it's possible they might need to be overbored correct? I would prefer hydraulic cam & lifters, maybe a manual choke but I've never used a manual choke before. This will be attached to a 727 tranny.. I might swap it for a 4 speed some day down the line.

Price is somewhat of an issue, I have around $15000(CDN dollars) total for a car, not all of it is for this build.. I've never built a complete engine and I don't really have a clue what it will cost to get what I'm looking for.