PDA

View Full Version : Solutions for dimming lights at idle -72 RR

Merrill
08-04-2000, 04:29 PM
Has anyone come up with a good solution for the feeble alternator/voltage regulators on late 60-early 70 Chrysler products? My lights dim significantly at stoplights. They virtually turn off in cadence with the turn signals. Don't even try to use the AC at idle unless you don't want to listen to the radio at the same time. I feel like that woman on Green Acres that could run the washing machine and the toaster at the same time. I have heard solutions like changing pulleys and such. But, I would really prefer getting either an alternator that will put out at idle, or a voltage regulator that will kick up at idle...even if they are not Chrysler products. Any ideas?

Gary
08-04-2000, 04:41 PM
I'm not an alternator expert, but I know that inexpensive, rebuilt alternators often do not have the diodes replaced, so one or more diodes might be burned out if you have one of these. The last time I had this problem, I went with a remanufactured alternator (at a higher price), and there was no problem. If you are running AC, I'd suggest buying a higher output alternator. My '73 Dodge truck with the trailer towing package always charges at idle, even when the load is heavy. I'm not sure of the output rating, but it's higher than the standard car alternator. I once bought a 400 from a police car and it had the alternator attached. I don't know what the rating was, but it was physically twice the size of the standard unit. A friend put it on his 4WD Dodge van equipped with a half-dozen huge driving lights. He said it had enough power to light a football field!

turbododge
08-04-2000, 08:14 PM
In the old Chrysler alternaters, going to a higher (80 from 40 for instance) usually REDUCES the output at idle! I have very heavy fan, fuel pump,ignition etc. loads and could consistently kill a 210 reserve minute ambulance battery.