Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Ram Truck Chat

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 07-12-2000, 08:05 PM
Inactive User

Question

I need some new pics of my truck, and I want a good burnout picture. The question I have is if I hold the brake and floor it for about 5-10 seconds will that screw up my rear brakes?
Or is there a better way to really smoke it up? I'm new at this burnout thing, I never had a car that went over 40..

thanks craig
Old 07-12-2000, 09:07 PM
Inactive User

Well I have done a few burn outs that way with my ss/t, no problems with the rear breaks so far. I imagine that if you do one for long enough you could glaze your break pads over. I would say it is probably ok. Besides your front breaks will do 80% of your stopping anyway.
Old 07-13-2000, 02:16 AM
300HP~300M

Right now I only have a wanker V6, I'm getting a crate engine so don't make fun of me!!!! Anyways, I can usually get a good "chirp" off the line by just Stabing the gas with my foot on the pedal and as soon as you "hear" your engine past the 2000 rpm or 2500 rpm mark I let go of the brake quickly. I would assume that if I did the same thing in a 300 HP version it probably peal out!!!!!
Old 07-13-2000, 03:22 AM

Cool

I have Goodyear Wranglers on and I've been looking for an excuse to justify new tires to the wife. One way I have found to do this is pull up next to a Ford or Chevy. Left foot on the brake pedal keeping an eye on the light. When the opposite light turns yellow start depressing the accelerator until you feel it slowly breaking them loose. When the light changes, floor it and let off the brake. Makes a lot of smoke, especially the right rear. No problems with the brakes so far, but I have only done it hard twice.

My buddy thought it was his Powerstoke acting up as I left him in a cloud
Old 07-13-2000, 03:23 AM
Inactive User