Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Ram Truck Chat

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 03-02-2002, 08:21 PM
Inactive User

Default pcm question and tranny fluid question

im starting to kick myself for buying a 2001, anyway, Id like to find out where the pcm is located and where the dealer plugs in to flash it. Is it a wire, a plug or a port on the pcm. I have to take it to the dealer because the speedometer will not come up when its cold, unless I beat on the dash. I dont want them to update it, the truck is a dog and I dont want it any worse, so I have to hide or lock the plug so its not worth there time to do it. Also if the new fluid in the trans is to slippery, Can I use Dextron 3 safely. At this point Im not going to worry about the warranty. I used to be a tranmission mechanic but got out of it when the GM 700R4 and the front wheel drive vehiles started rolling in. I havent kept up with the technology in automatic transmission, so im unsure what I can do. I plan on installing a transgo this summer, should I put the recommended fluid in or Dextron 3. .............Thanks
Old 03-02-2002, 11:26 PM

Default p-cm

the pcm is by the left side of the fire wall 3 connectors gray white black. the port the dealer used to flash the pcm is the diagnostic connetor under the dash to the right of the steering wheel. don`t mess with the connector thats how they diagnois the check engine light ,the dash ,the air back ,the anti lock brake system. also using dexron will cause torque converter shudder and failure.dexron is TOO slippery. ours is agresive.put the shift kit it will help. but the factory does retard the timing and shut down the fuel injector while shifting. for smooth sickning shifts. if your interested in a shift kit e-mail me at mopartec@hotmail.com i modify valvebodys for company in fontata ca. and work for a dodge dealer
Old 03-03-2002, 12:15 AM