Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Restoring your MoPar (Tricks & techniques)

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 07-12-2002, 12:03 AM
Inactive User

Thumbs up monster 273 v-eight?

C'mon all you gearheads. I'm new at this and need some engine info. Can one build a killer 273 small block or is it just not capable of much. If so what are the (goodies) that I should pack inside this little guy?
I'm looking for streetable yet highway capable-but I do want lopey cam and good low end torque.--Please help with your suggestions.
Oh my budget cannot exceed $3500.oo
Old 07-12-2002, 02:34 AM
Inactive User

Lightbulb Crate motor

If you are dumping $3500. into it here is the 380hp 360 for $3465

Jims, may find it even cheaper!!

Quick and easy, just need a carb & headers. It even comes with the elec. dist.!!

Keep the 273 for originality!

Old 07-13-2002, 12:33 AM
Inactive User

Default no crates for me

Heard lotsa bad stuff from crate motor owners such as improper torques causing major damage and grab bag parts stuffed into them, not to mention hassles from m/p for warranty repairs.
If I were to get a crate motor I would have to take a look inside first and check it out.
I am really looking for good advise on building this 273, that was my question.
Old 07-13-2002, 05:19 PM

Spending $3500 on a 273 is a waste of money. Even if you have to disassemble the crate 360, you're only out the cost of a gasket set.
Forget the 273, I know it's not the info you asked for, but it's good advice.
Old 07-15-2002, 10:18 AM
Inactive User

Default monster 273 V-eight

I just put a thread under classical mopar asking about the same
thing. This is just my input, replace the bumpstick, swap solid for
hydraulic lifters, different pushrods and rocker arm assembly(standard or roller style). I don't know cost wise whether this is