Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.


Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!  

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Ram Truck Chat
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read


Welcome to the Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-27-2008, 04:24 PM
power_ram's Avatar
power_ram power_ram is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 95
Default a727 transmission problems??

first of all I changed the gasket due a medium leak put a new gasket on and I stripped two threads on the tranny housing.. Went ahead and filled the transmission. Let the truck sit for about 4 months.

Recently installed the throttle rod, turned the truck on put it in reverse and it didnt go into gear, then I rocked the shift lever in and out finally went into gear. Then I put it in drive and it didnt engaged etc.

Pulled the transmission stick and theres almost no fluid.

I am going to replace the pan, filter and gasket. It does have a small leak and two pan bolts are stripped. Is that why its not going into gear?

Last edited by power_ram : 01-27-2008 at 04:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-27-2008, 04:50 PM
RacerHog's Avatar
RacerHog RacerHog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Monrovia.Calif.
Age: 51
Posts: 710
Default

Sound like it to me....You hit the nail on the head....
__________________
RacerHog
Bob(Cowboy)Hogan
Monrovia So-Cal
1977 Dodge D150 Warlock 360ci
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-27-2008, 05:40 PM
power_ram's Avatar
power_ram power_ram is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 95
Default

By shifting it in different gears and moving it 5 feet didnt do any damage though right??
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-28-2008, 10:54 AM
RacerHog's Avatar
RacerHog RacerHog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Monrovia.Calif.
Age: 51
Posts: 710
Default

No...If it's broke....It was broke before you touched it......
When you have the pan off....Just check the inside linkage, see if anything looks lok it came loose....

Should be ok, once you change the gasket, and reinstall the fluid...

Might try to fix the striped bolts also....
__________________
RacerHog
Bob(Cowboy)Hogan
Monrovia So-Cal
1977 Dodge D150 Warlock 360ci
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-28-2008, 03:48 PM
John Kunkel John Kunkel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: NorCal
Age: 70
Posts: 9,932
Default

If the trruck wasn't started following the previous fluid change, that would explain the low fluid level as the pump circulated what fluid there was into the trans.

When refilling with fluid be sure to always make the initial start with the shifter in neutral instead of Park and always check the fluid level with the engine running in Neutral.
__________________
They say money can't buy happiness but it can sure finance the illusion.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2008, 05:43 PM
power_ram's Avatar
power_ram power_ram is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 95
Default

I know i can retap the aluminum threads. What size tap do i need??

I was told i could just put silicone chalk in the holes and tighten the bolts but, I rather do it the right way instead of rigging it.

I have started the truck many times after refilling the transmission but, this is the first time I put it in gear. The purpose for the truck is for going up to the farm, hardware store, farm supply store and back. It will only be used about 5 times out of a year.

Thanks for the help

Last edited by power_ram : 01-28-2008 at 05:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-28-2008, 06:38 PM
RacerHog's Avatar
RacerHog RacerHog is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Monrovia.Calif.
Age: 51
Posts: 710
Default

Take the bolt with you to the parts house and tell them you need a Heli-Coil repair kit to fix where that size bolt goses. Thay will sell you the little kit with the drill bit, coils,Tap and installer unit... all you have to do is drill it straight and install the new coil and install the bolt....
__________________
RacerHog
Bob(Cowboy)Hogan
Monrovia So-Cal
1977 Dodge D150 Warlock 360ci
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Want to contribute to Moparchat?  Click below!




120x60_green

rollback0306_120X90.gif




New 2006



468 x 60 with phones
2GB Totally Free Online Backup!  Compliments of Mozy!


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

www.pchelp.com

Forums Directory