Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide!

Go Back   Moparchat - Home of MOPAR enthusiasts worldwide! > Technical Forums > Restoring your MoPar (Tricks & techniques)

Click here to search for Mopar cars and parts for sale.

Old 01-14-2000, 03:28 AM
Inactive User

OK, I purchased a paint sprayer today. IT was 50 bones at Lowes and it was the best they had.
I want to paint BaseCoat/ClearCoat. I will start with the engine compartment of the car.
I need to match the original color. Is this something the guys at the paint store can get off my fender tag?
Whats the best way of matching the factory paint?(if I can't get it exactly 100% the same color I won't freak out; no biggie)
Any tips on painting bc/cc?
The car currently has the factory paint on it. I have 2 coats of sandable primer on the engine compartment. What grit sandpaper should I finish up with before I spray the bc/cc paint?
Any tips would be great sense this is my first time.
Old 01-14-2000, 04:05 AM
Inactive User

Is it an HVLP gun?

------------------
~Elwenil~ ~.\|/.~
Elwenil.cjb.net
DodgeChargerSE@aol.com
72 Charger SE
Old 01-14-2000, 04:09 AM
ted

i highly doubt a $50 dollar gun will spray will enuff to spray bc/cc .
what do u have for an air compessor?

what primer did u use?
Old 01-14-2000, 04:25 AM
Inactive User

I guess you mean High Volume Low Pressure paint gun.
Well, it operates at 40PSI.
I am new to this so I don't know.
My air compressor is a 60gal 6HP professional type.
It has 20ft of metal plumbing with purge valves at the low points and a water sep/regulator at the end.
Anything else?
Why do I need a HVLP sprayer? I must have Knowledge!!!
Old 01-14-2000, 09:21 AM
Inactive User